Group picture of LPHLS alumni in front of Ad Astra Per Aspera painting

Local Public Health Leadership Series Alumni 2022

On November 15-16, 2022, thirteen alumni of the Kansas Local Public Health Leadership Series convened in Wichita. The purpose of this training event was to ensure that participants left with tools to engage in meaningful conversations with their staff and colleagues, with a special focus on building a trustworthy process and taking care of yourself as acts of leadership. This event created opportunities for participants to review adaptive leadership concepts, strengthen relationships, and practice with new tools, including NACCHO’s Joy in Work Toolkit. The evaluations were positive and highlighted how important it is to have time to connect with other public health professionals. Evaluations reinforced the value of peer learning and enthusiastic support for revisiting adaptive leadership concepts and Joy in Work. The training team for this event included Seth Bate, Sonja Armbruster, and Tina Payne, with administrative support from Jessica Smith and Kristina Helmer. The Kansas Local Public Health Leadership Series is offered by the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) in collaboration with Kansas Association of Local Health Departments (KALHD) and sponsorship from Midwestern Public Health Training Center (MPHTC).

Pictured in Photo:

Seated (L to R): Seth Bate (WSU CEI), Monica Reuber (Sheridan County LHD), Krista Schneider (Marion County LHD), Kirsten Bundy (Raising Riley/Riley County LHD), Quenla McGilber (JoyfulHouse Inc), Sonja Armbruster (WSU CEI)

Standing (L to R): Tina Payne (WSU CEI), Kerri Ulrich (Kiowa County LHD), Lisa Moritz (Greeley County LHD), Chelsea Small (Barber County LHD), Cassandra Edson (Wilson Co LHD), Renee Berish (Riley County LHD), Denae Jones (Raising Riley/Riley County LHD), Crystal Freeman (Pratt County LHD), Karen Kelley (KDHE), Charlie Bryan (Lawrence-Douglas County LHD)